Victoria v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia 1907/08
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 1st, 3rd, 4th February 1908 (timeless match)
Balls per over6
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 330 runs
UmpiresE Barrass, W Hannah
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 28/2 (Vaughan 13*, Healy 4*)
Close of play day 2Victoria (2) 35/1 (Healy 7*, Woodford 13*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Hobbsb Trott30     
G Gunnlbw b Trott7     
EG Hayesc Delves b Trott30     
KL Hutchingsc Carroll b Hazlitt12     
J Hardstaffc Fry b Laver122     
FL Fanec and b Laver36     
JN Crawfordc Delves b Carroll69     
*AO Jonesc Vaughan b Laver9     
SF Barnesnot out7     
+J Humphriesc Fry b Trott7     
C Blythec Delves b Trott2     
Extras(5 b, 2 lb)7
Total(all out, 218 minutes, 81 overs)338
Fall of wickets:
1-14, 2-60, 3-77, 4-89, 5-197, 6-300, 7-314, 8-324, 9-336, 10-338 (81 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Speirs11   3490--
Trott25   11165--
Hazlitt20   3841--
Fry5   0330--
Laver14   3383--
Carroll6   1111--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GHS Trottb Blythe4     
F Vaughanb Barnes16     
EV Carrollb Blythe6     
GEJ Healyc Gunn b Blythe14     
FT Delvesc Fane b Barnes4     
HJ Fryc Crawford b Barnes8     
TR Rushrun out (?->Barnes)0     
*FJ Laverc Hardstaff b Barnes2     
GR Hazlittlbw b Barnes8     
NL Speirsc Hobbs b Blythe10     
+JRH Woodfordnot out4     
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(all out, 125 minutes, 41.2 overs)77
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-13, 3-31, 4-35, 5-47, 6-47, 7-55, 8-55, 9-65, 10-77 (41.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barnes21   10325--
Crawford1   030--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Hobbsc Delves b Laver115     
G Gunnc Laver b Carroll48     
EG Hayesb Carroll7     
KL Hutchingsc Laver b Carroll51     
J Hardstaffnot out12     
FL Fanenot out0     
JN Crawforddid not bat      
*AO Jonesdid not bat      
SF Barnesdid not bat      
+J Humphriesdid not bat      
C Blythedid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 2 lb)8
Total(4 wickets, declared, 145 minutes, 52 overs)241
Fall of wickets:
1-118, 2-130, 3-201, 4-237
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trott8   0390--
Laver12   4481--
Hazlitt10   1490--
Speirs7   2230--
Fry4   1120--
Carroll11   0623--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
F Vaughanb Barnes15     
GEJ Healyb Blythe11     
+JRH Woodfordc Jones b Barnes13     
FT Delvesrun out (Barnes->Humphries)4     
GHS Trottb Blythe30     
EV Carrollc Jones b Barnes61     
HJ Fryb Crawford1     
TR Rushc Barnes b Crawford9     
*FJ Laverc Hobbs b Barnes20     
GR Hazlittc Jones b Barnes0     
NL Speirsnot out1     
Extras(7 lb)7
Total(all out, 184 minutes, 64.5 overs)172
Fall of wickets:
1-21, 2-35, 3-43, 4-43, 5-97, 6-98, 7-122, 8-171, 9-171, 10-172 (64.5 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Blythe20   6522--
Crawford20   4632--
Hayes3   0150--

--> GEJ Healy made his debut in first-class matches
--> FT Delves made his debut in first-class matches
--> NL Speirs made his debut in first-class matches
--> GHS Trott made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> HJ Fry made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> TR Rush made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> J Hardstaff (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 61
--> J Hardstaff (1) passed 4500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 97
--> JB Hobbs (2) passed 6000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 91
--> C Blythe reached 1200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Victoria first innings
--> EV Carroll achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Marylebone Cricket Club second innings (previous best was 1-11)

12th Men: RAYoung (MCC) JH Kyle and RS Stephens were named as Victorian emergencies
Crowds: 6633, 1500, 200. Total: About 8333. Receipts: 253 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive