Johnson wins Cricketer of the Year award
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:G Gambhir, MS Dhoni, BC de Wett

DateLine: 2nd October 2009


The most coveted Cricketer of the Year Award went to Australian Mitchel Johnson who had a phenomenal year with both the bat and the ball in Test and ODI crickets in the past year. Johnson beat Dhoni, Gambhir and England captain Andrew Strauss in a four-way race for the ICC Cricketer of the Year Award.


The 27-year-old Australian fast bowler took 80 wickets from 17 matches he played in the year along with 632 valuable runs at an average of 30.09, including a century. In the 16 ODIs he played during the year, Johnson scalped 28 victims and scored 83 runs in the voting period from August 13, 2008 to August 24, 2009.


Gambhir won the Test Player of the Year Award by beating Johnson, Strauss and Sri Lankan Thilan Samaraweera. Gambhir scored 1269 runs from eight matches he played in the voting period with an astronomic average of 84.60 with five hundreds.


His captain Dhoni retained the ODI Player Year of the Year Award, which he won last year also. Dhoni played 24 ODIs in the voting period from which he scored 967 with nine fifties at an average of 60.43, the strike rate being 86.63.


The Indian skipper beat strong competition from his own two team-mates in Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag, and West Indian Shivnarine Chanderpaul.


Dhoni was also named captain of both the Test and ODI Teams of the Year. Both the world teams have three Indians each with Dhoni being one of them.


Besides Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Gambhir found place in the world Test Team while Sehwag and Yuvraj figured in the ODI side. Another Indian, off-spinner Harbhajan Singh was named as the 12th man in the world Test team.


The selection panel for the awards was chaired by former West Indian captain Clive Lloyd. Other members of the panel included Anil Kumble (India), Bob Taylor (England), Mudassar Nazar (Pakistan) and Stephen Fleming (New Zealand).


The Awards : Cricketer of the Year : Mitchell Johnson (Australia) Test Player of the Year : Gautam Gambhir (Ind) One-Day Player of the Year : Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India)


ICC World Test Team of the Year : Gautam Gambhir (India), Andrew Strauss (Eng), AB de Villiers (SA), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Thilan Samraweera (Sri Lanka), Michael Clarke (Aus), MS Dhoni (India-captain), Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA) and Harbhajan Singh ( 12th man; India).


ICC World ODI Team of the Year : Virender Sehwag (India), Chris Gayle (West Indies), Kevin Pietersen (England), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Yuvraj Singh (India), Martin Guptill (New Zealand), MS Dhoni (Ind; capt., wk), Andrew Flintoff (England), Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), Umar Gul (Pakistan). 12th man: Thilan Thushara (Sri Lanka).


Twenty20 International Performance of the Year : Tillekratne Dilshan (SL).


Umpire of the Year : Aleem Dar (Pakistan)


Spirit of Team Award : New Zealand


Emerging Player of Year : Peter Siddle (Australia)


Associate and Affiliate Player of Year Award : William Porterfield (Ireland)


Women Cricketer of Year : Claire Taylor (England).