Oxfordshire v Berkshire
Minor Counties Championship 1957
VenueChrist Church Ground, Oxford on 23rd, 24th August 1957 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossOxfordshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsOxfordshire 3; Berkshire 1
UmpiresLAC D'Arcy, GS Mobey
ScorerJ Hinton (Berkshire)
Close of play day 1

Oxfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JE Bushc Pickett b James23     
JW Carterb Pickett7     
GD Roynonnot out133     
CTG Carrb James7     
DJ Laittb James5     
DE Martinnot out50     
RA Winstonedid not bat      
RDJ Surmandid not bat      
D Bantondid not bat      
AFR Greendid not bat      
AL Hichensdid not bat      
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(4 wickets, declared, 67 overs)228
Fall of wickets:
1-7, 2-86, 3-102, 4-118
Berkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Came10   1230--
Pickett19   1531--
James20   1653--
Brooks12   1560--
Sharp1   030--
Langdale5   0250--

Berkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AA Hillaryc Carr b Laitt0     
JA Mencec Carr b Surman20     
AT Davisc Carr b Laitt23     
RM Jamesc Bush b Laitt30     
CEW Brooksb Laitt0     
KC Camec Bush b Surman2     
FC Pickettlbw b Banton28     
JJ Carlessc Surman b Laitt11     
GR Langdalec Winstone b Bush2     
REA Dymentc Martin b Laitt4     
R Sharpnot out0     
Extras(2 b, 6 lb)8
Total(all out, 48.5 overs)128
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-44, 3-46, 4-48, 5-59, 6-96, 7-114, 8-120, 9-125, 10-128 (48.5 ov)
Oxfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Surman18   4352--
Hichens3   0130--
Banton5   1101--
Bush1   041--

Berkshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
AA Hillaryb Laitt68     
JA Mencec Martin b Hichens88     
AT Davisb Hichens20     
RM Jamesc Martin b Hichens1     
CEW Brooksb Surman6     
KC Camenot out8     
FC Pickettc Green b Hichens11     
JJ Carlessb Hichens0     
R Sharpnot out0     
GR Langdaledid not bat      
REA Dymentdid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 2 nb)10
Total(7 wickets, 64.2 overs)212
Fall of wickets:
1-104, 2-159, 3-173, 4-186, 5-186, 6-198, 7-198
Oxfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Laitt18   5621--
Hichens20   3665-2
Banton4   180--
Green4   1110--
Roynon3   0120--

--> R Sharp made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> JE Bush (1) passed 3500 runs in Minor Counties Championship matches when he reached 20
--> GD Roynon (1) passed his previous highest score of 62 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> GD Roynon (1) made his first century in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> DE Martin (1) passed his previous highest score of 37 in Minor Counties Championship matches